Fair Housing Resources

If you think your rights have been violated:

Launch an online complaint with HUD using the Housing Discrimination Complaint Form (Form 903). Learn the basic facts about the Housing Act and your rights under the Act. Read about the steps of the Fair Housing complaint process.

REMEMBER: housing discrimination is not only illegal, but it contradicts the integrity and principles of freedom and opportunity that we treasure as Americans. 

Fair Housing Enforcement

 Government Entities That Investigate Fair Housing Complaints

  • People who believe they have experienced discrimination may file a complaint by contacting HUD's Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity at 800-669-9777 (voice) or 800-877-8339 (Relay). Housing discrimination complaints may also be filed by going to hud.gov/fair housing.
  • Maryland residents who believe they have been discriminated against in employment, housing, public accommodations, or state contracts because of race, color, religion or creed, sex, age, ancestry or national origin, marital status, physical or mental disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetic information (employment only), and/or familial status (housing only), may file a complaint of discrimination with the Maryland Commission on Civil Rights (MCCR): https://mccr.maryland.gov/Pages/Intake.aspx
  • Prince George's County residents can also contact the County governments Office of Human Rights: https://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/1528/Human-Rights
  • The Fair Housing Action Center of Maryland ensures compliance with local, state, and federal Fair Housing laws, and advocates for the rights of tenants in Maryland: https://www.fairhousingmd.org/

How to Avoid a Fair Housing Violation


Federal Laws and Regulations

The Federal laws that regulate the fair housing mandates include more than Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended. It is also enforced by the follow laws and regulations.

Title II of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Title II prohibits discrimination in certain places of public accommodation, such as hotels, restaurants, nightclubs and theaters.

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Title VI prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national origin in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance.

Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990

Title II of the ADA prohibits discrimination based on disability in programs, services, and activities provided or made available by public entities. HUD enforces Title II when it relates to state and local public housing, housing assistance and housing referrals.

Age Discrimination Act of 1975

The Age Discrimination Act of 1975 prohibits discrimination on the basis of age in programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance.